Who? What? When? Where? How? WHY?!?!?!

Who? Larissa Churchill

What?
I study sometimes and might get a degree at some point.

When?
How the hell should I know? Jeez get off my back you inanimate object, goddammit!

Where? 
Thankfully near a beach and NOT in the Middle of Nowhere, New South Wales, Australia.*

How? 
WOAH. No one needs to know THAT much in depth.**

WHY?!?!?!
2015 me: WHY ARE YOU YELLING AT ME AND OVERUSING PUNCTUATION?!?! I DON’T KNOW OKAY?! YES I’LL CLEAN MY ROOM EVENTUALLY BUT IT ISN’T EVEN THAT BAD YET!

2016 me: As a second year UOW student, I’ve had at least 12 months to get to know the university and become familiar with Wollongong in general. As a undergrad psychology student in 2015, I became increasingly aware that this particular degree wasn’t for me – and that I desperately needed a course change.

I may only be a week into my Communications and Media Studies (Marketing/Advertising) degree, but I can’t believe how much more intrigued and involved I am in my studies compared to this time last year. I am also so surprised at how quickly I came to the realisation of WHY?!?!?! I am here. I am here to work hard, maybe meet some like-minded chicken schnity enthusiasts (I’m not fussy, beef is fine too), and graduate in a degree that I am passionate about. I am at the beautiful University Of Wollongong because this is where I believe I will get the best opportunities not only during my time here but also after I graduate.

I feel like I am also here (whether face-to-face or just blogging form) to show that just because you start with a particular degree, doesn’t necessarily mean you will finish with it. And that’s okay! Already having a HECS debt of nearly $3,000 for a degree that is basically worth nothing now (think of how many cheese and bacon fries could have been bought… THINK OF THE GOON!! safe and responsible consumption of a non-alcoholic beverage) is bad enough, but having a $30,000 HECS debt for a degree that I despise/will never use/will never frame/will be shoved in that one drawer that will never see the light of day… is SO. MUCH. WORSE.

Find something you enjoy and love, and the question WHY ARE YOU HERE?!?! will become significantly less daunting; and infinitely clearer.

*Middle of Nowhere, New South Wales is actually a place.

**If you would like to know HOW I am here right now, click here.

Leave a Reply

